National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) was established to prevent the loss of life and property due to flooding. The focus of the NFIP has been to identify 100-year floodplain areas and aid the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in mapping them. In these areas, past experience indicates that destructive flooding has a high probability of occurring.

Fayette County Regulations

Fayette County, in part, regulates development in the 100-year flood plain based upon the FEMA map, which is illustrated on Exhibit 2. Other methods, as determined by the staff, are also utilized to determine the existence and probable extent of flood prone areas. The obvious waterways with adjacent 100-year floodplain areas include the Monongahela, Cheat, and Youghiogheny Rivers and several significant tributary streams. 

Of additional interest is the general soil map of Fayette County indicating soils on stream terraces and flood plains. Towns that are impacted by this soil type include: 

  • Belle Vernon
  • Brownsville
  • Connellsville
  • Everson
  • Indian Head
  • Masontown
  • Melcroft
  • Perryopolis
  • Point Marion